Pot Roast Paninis? Sure, why not!?

We eat lots of leftovers in this house. I often make a lot just to be able to stretch it out for a couple of days. Not only does it save money but it also enables me to be creative.

I can make pretty much anything into a panini and I often do. Eric and I actually have a list going of all the different kinds of paninis that I’ve made. And I started a new folder in my recipe section dedicated solely to the delectable sandwiches. A lot of the time I’m using the left over meat with maybe a part of a side dish and then making a sauce to hold the whole thing together. I must say, I’ve never tasted one I didn’t like.

Paninis are easy. If you have a panini press or grill pan with a brick, or something heavy to weigh down the sandwich, then you’re golden. The second part you need is good bread. Paninis are not meant to use up your white bread. The best kinds of bread are sturdy like ciabatta, sourdough or a rustic crusty bread. Today we used the sourdough I made a few days ago (see post for that recipe) and our leftover pot roast (also see the post for that).

I reheated the pot roast in some left over beef ju that we saved. We always try to save any broth and even freeze some to make other dishes. Eric cut slices of the sourdough bread and reheated the mash potatoes we also had with the pot roast. On one side of the bread he spread a thin layer of taters and then a little of the gravy (also a leftover!). Then on the other side he slathered on a horseradish cream sauce I had made earlier and topped that with a slice of provolone cheese. Although I think a havarti or a sharper cheese would have worked better, we only had provolone or american. Finally, we put the roast on the sandwich and let our press do the rest of the work. The best part was the horseradish cream sauce which really complimented the meat. So, I’m including that recipe here!

photo 1 (10)

photo 2 (13)Horseradish Cream Sauce (makes about a 1/2 cup)

Ingredients:

1/4 cup light mayo

1 tablespoon light sour cream

1 1/2 tablespoons horseradish or more to taste (jarred)

salt and pepper to taste

Directions: Mix all ingredients together, taste and adjust seasoning to your liking. Let sit in the fridge for a couple hours so the flavors meld together.

Eric also said that it would have been good with some chives in it. So, add those if you’d like. Also, if you feel you went overboard on the horseradish (DOUBT IT!) then just add more mayo. Worst case scenario is you have too much. Which is never a bad thing.

photo 3 (11)

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Pot Roast Paninis? Sure, why not!?

  1. Laura Baker says:

    That is one of the best sandwiches I have ever heard of or seen. That is my kind of sandwich, I would like some sautéed onions on it too, that sandwich just looks like it would be perfect with sautéed onions and (like you said) a heartier cheese, Havarti I think, OMG!!! Mmmmm!

  2. Sauteed onions would have been delicious. Havarti will definitely be used next time :o) nom nom nom

Leave a comment